Register now to get rid of these ads!

Problem building up brake pedal pressure....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by aceuh, May 16, 2010.

1. smiffy6four

smiffy6four

I bought a Ramcharger once upon a time and that was the culprit! Calipers on the wrong sides, bleed screws pointing at the dirt.

As previously mentioned, it's gotta be a volume issue; this is proven by clamping the hoses and reducing the system volume.

2. Ice man

Ice man

Is it possible that the bleeders are at the low side of the caliper instead of the high side of the caliper. Air rises.

3. aceuh

aceuh

Bleeder valves are pointing up.

4. nofin

nofin
    from australia

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that this could be the problem. Front calipers have a larger bore/capacity than rear calipers. If the master is trying to fill front calipers from a piston meant to fill smaller rear calipers it could be running out of fluid in the mc before it gets pressure in the calipers.

5. budd

budd

so when you had c-clamps on both rear calipers holding the piston from moving at all, the pedal was still soft, correct? there single piston calipers?

6. Johnny1290

Johnny1290

FWIW I still don't have my 4wdb system perfect by any means, but I'm using a 1 1/4" MC and a dual 11" booster

I'm also running 1/4" hardline to the rear discs and 3/16 to the front, for better or for worse.

A way to diagnose is to get a pressure gauge and attach it to each corner to see exactly how many #s of pressure you're getting. The gauge doesn't lie and gives you some facts to work with and maybe save some frustration. In fact I'm going to order one right now.

also here's a link to '4 wdb spongy pedal probs"

article on how to use a brake pressure gauge for diagnosis:

SSBC sure stop brake pressure gauge kit 49 bucks

[​IMG]
    Photographs are for illustrative purposes only and may not be the exact kit listed. ​

Product Features