Register now to get rid of these ads!

Compliments.....what happens when you drive your car?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BAILEIGH INC, Apr 30, 2010.

1. BAILEIGH INC

BAILEIGH INC
    Alliance Vendor

I'm new to driving a classic car as an adult. My mom drove me around in our 1960 Corvair when I was a kid, but I hated it. Now that I drive my son around in it, I love the attention and so does he.

I get thumbs up, honks, stared at durring the stop lights, people drooling at gas stations...strangers tell me stories about when they were kids. It's like seeing my car brings up all of these old memories for them. It's pretty cool. :cool: I guess if you have drove a classic for a long time it's not that big of a deal, but it is definitely new attention my family is not used to, but we like it.

2. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

when I drive my 61 Dodge around the reaction I get is usually laughter. had one guy yell out the window "what the hell kind of car is that?" that one sticks in my mind. people usually want to know what year it is, the ones that guess usually guess wrong.. they think it is older.

3. WhiteZombie

WhiteZombie
    from Denton TX

I'm running open headers and the cops even wave as I pass them...got stopped once just because he wanted to know the year. Seems like everyone you pass has their phone out to take a picture...people will risk driving off the road just to get a picture.

4. Sometimes when I'm really lucky chics will flash their BOOBS at us !!! >>>>.

5. BAILEIGH INC

BAILEIGH INC
    Alliance Vendor

I get laughed at as well, I'm a big guy.....wedged into a Corvair. It is funny.

6. BAILEIGH INC

BAILEIGH INC
    Alliance Vendor

That would be sweet! :D

My car isn't nice enough for them to give me a treat like that. :eek:

7. Makes me want to get my truck done sooner!!!:cool::cool: