Register now to get rid of these ads!

63 Galaxie sedan with Swing-Away Steering Wheel ??

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 55olds88, Apr 22, 2010.

1. 55olds88

55olds88

has anyone ever seen this before ? I just bought one in from the USA and was very surprised to see this in a 4 door sedan ?? Anyway to tell if it was originally optioned ?

2. HOTRODKID91

HOTRODKID91

a picture would help!!

3. vncruiser

vncruiser
    BANNED

I have never heard of that... Had a lot of Galaxies....Maybe swapped in from a T-bird?

4. travisfromkansas

travisfromkansas

I'm no expert but I've only seen it on the Thunderbirds. If I can find a copy of the 63 lit on the Galaxie I'll look if it was mentioned, but I'm afraid that is at the bottom of a big stack of magazines and it may take a while to find it.

5. cracker head

cracker head

Yes they came in the galaxies, it was a rare option.

6. Maco-B

Maco-B

T-bird's yes . Galaxies never saw that from FoMoCo.

7. 55olds88

55olds88

if it were factory fit would it be marked on build tag or anything ? sorry I haven't owned a US ford before, it sure looks original.

8. Diamond N

Diamond N
    from Indiana

Hi...

Yes...'Swing Away Wheel' was an option in 1963-64 on full size Fords, but had to be ordered along with power steering and 'Cruise-O-Matic Drive'

Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  9. 55olds88

55olds88

cool, we got Crusie-A-Matic and power steer and 352 pretty well optioned car for a more door.

thanks for that.

10. 61TBird

61TBird

It's Cruise-O-Matic....:rolleyes:

Please post pics of the column and the shift indicator on top of the column.

11. merc1960 had a 63 with swingaway I had to drive up just to see it. but it real and was stock and in a boxtop 63 no less. also have seen these in mustangs.

12. hotrod40coupe

hotrod40coupe