Register now to get rid of these ads!

fans, mech or elec? what do you run?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by classicdreamer, Apr 19, 2010.

1. classicdreamer

classicdreamer
    from nyc
    1. A-D Truckers

I have read and searched on here about this question. Cannot find a thread that gives a solid answer. I know this can go either way and is mostly personal preference. I am new to the classic car world and everything I have had before is electric fans. Thank you in advance for the guidance.

I am in the process of figuring out what fan to run on my 327. I have a complete march pulley system that I bought from a friend that is really nice. Thought of running electric fans, then thought of running a mechanical fan. I like the mechanical fan for one main reason right now. Keeps the original look of the motor. I am concerned about losing HP, that is why I thought of electric. what are the positives and negatives of both?

With running a mechanical fan, is there a light weight blade that doesnt cause so much drag on the motor and rob hp?

I have heard horrible things about flexlites. others companies, Derale??

Thanks

motor in question:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. A lot depends on what kind of car your trying to squeeze the 327 into. HRP

3. classicdreamer

classicdreamer
    from nyc
    1. A-D Truckers

I also live in and around NYC area, where traffic is an understatement. I have also read that mechanical fans run the risk of over heating while sitting in traffic due to the fans not spinning as fast. Should this be considered as well? truth?

4. classicdreamer

classicdreamer
    from nyc
    1. A-D Truckers

Sorry going into my 55 1st series chevy pickup.

5. Magnus

Magnus
    from Sweden

I hate the sound of an electric fan in an old car, but if it's necessary what can you do? I have heard the stories of the flexlites but never had anyhing like a breakeage happening to me. Used them for years.