Register now to get rid of these ads!

Baileigh Tech~~ Shaping metal with basic tools

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jhnarial, Apr 2, 2010.

1. jhnarial

jhnarial
    from MISSOURI

I posted a tech thread back in 2008 Tech Month~~Home made metal shaping tools . In this thread I will show the tools that I showed in action.

I am not a great metal shaper but I am persistent.

Let me try to explain this project because it is a little out of my element. I shaped an old school chopper tank. I don't own a bike so this was just a practice exercise. I have been practicing the basics of metal shaping for the past two years, I just do projects like this and I learn a little bit with every practice project.

Let's get started.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I don't have any patterns but I have a picture in my head of what I want it to look like. Shaping panels from nothing is one of the things I need to get better at, so this was a good challenge.

I started it off with the top so I cut out a blank and put some reference lines on it, so I had a guide for what I needed to shrink.

test run 6 298.jpg

Now with a stump I started to shrink the edge. I found what works best for me is to drive your hammer blow into the side of the dish. (Stump shrinking requires a heavy hammer) This hammer blow will cause a tuck, then all you have to do is hammer that tuck out. If you do any kind of sheet metal Fab, I believe a stump is a must have tool.

test run 6 301.jpg

test run 6 302.jpg

Alternate sides so you shrink the sides evenly.

test run 6 307.jpg

test run 6 309.jpg

After I was done shrinking I went to the beater bag a stretched the center. Not too much to explain here, just stretch it until you have your desired shape.

test run 6 312.jpg