Register now to get rid of these ads!

Engineers and Drafters, I need Advice

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by poofus1929, Feb 24, 2010.

1. poofus1929

poofus1929
    from So Cal

I need some advice. I am 32 years old, I have worked as a warehouseman, an electrician and a mechanic. It has taken a toll on my body and I have recently started going back to college. I am majoring in Drafting Technology which includes CAD courses. What I am asking is how good is the field and what Automotive related jobs can I get with an AA in drafting? Is it a good field job wise?

2. hotrod40coupe

hotrod40coupe

It used to be great back in the days of Aerospace, don't know about the demand today. It seems like a bit of a roller coaster these days. If you can get some experience with Pro Engineer, that would be good. Autocad is the most common system used today for smaller jobs.

3. R Frederick

R Frederick
    from illinois

I used to do Autocad full time. I can't sit at a computer desk all day at work no matter what it is. I eventually got into Construction Management. I bid work and manage projects for a moderate sized excavating company. I work in an office, and get out once in a while. I can't complain. What I'm trying to say is try to stay away from "production" work. It'll turn you into a zombie.

4. Malcolm

Malcolm
    from Nebraska

Not too sure about the Automotive related drafting jobs, but I've been doing Mechanical (HVAC and plumbing design and drafting) for the past 10 years. I also have an Assoicates of Applied Science degree in Architectural Engineering.

The company that I currently work for (HDR, Inc. - been here for 5 years) does mostly Hospital and large commercial design, along a ton of Civil (roadway, bridge, etc.) work.
    I know there are some jobs available in this industry, just not as many as in the past. The economy has affected us some, but overall we are not doing too bad.