Register now to get rid of these ads!

Carb confusion-strait 6 235

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MarkKoch, Feb 16, 2010.

1. MarkKoch

MarkKoch
    from Maryland

Ok here it is,I have a 48 stylemaster 3 spd with a 235(1953 block),848 head(56-62).You guys have been great sorting that out for me.I pulled the carb its a rochester single barrel,none of the serial numbers match on it.I want to replace it.I need to know what model I need,part number ect.Seems like who`m ever had the car before me,had a lot of parts from differant years and made them work,wich has left me hunting for info,not being able to match casting numbers ect.I want to be able to go to auto zone and tell them exactly what I need(I dont trust there knowledge in getting the correct carb)Thanx for your time

2. 29nash

29nash
    BANNED
    from colorado

3. HEATHEN

HEATHEN
    from SIDNEY, NY

Some (not all) of the Rochester B carbs have a four digit number stamped on the gasket surface of the base plate, like "9522". It's the last four digits of the carb's original tag number.....you know, the I.D. tag that got thrown away the first time someone had the top off of the carb. Clean the bottom of the base off and if there's a number there, we can figure out an exact application.

4. MarkKoch

MarkKoch
    from Maryland

5. MarkKoch

MarkKoch
    from Maryland

I will pull it apart shortly and post the number,thanx

6. MarkKoch

MarkKoch
    from Maryland

Inside the carb is the number 7004510(near the float) on the outside 7003536-c-33 RP. Also the number 4519 near where the air cleaner would attatch

7. crackerass54

crackerass54
    from dallas

8. MarkKoch

MarkKoch
    from Maryland