Register now to get rid of these ads!

Can you build a real Chevy 302?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Lucky Strike, Sep 27, 2005.

1. brigrat

brigrat
    from Wa.St.

Well here's 5 pages of info, enough to make your head spin! Can someone just post the parts needed to make a 301 and a 302? I am not very good at puzzles and would like to see it in a more user friendly order before I throw out or give my SBC stash away. I to would like to build one of these....................
    Block?
    Crank?
    Rods?
    Pistons?
    Heads?
    Cams?
    Thanks.................................

2. Shaggy

Shaggy
    from Sultan, WA

Basicly without spending big bucks for a large journal z-28 crank here it is

302 pistons
    283 crank with small journal rods
    4" bore small journal block, as in 1/8 over 283 or 327 OR 4" bore Large journal block (late 327 or 350)with spacer bearings

All other parts are normal small block stuff

3. Brad54

Brad54
    from Atl Ga

Quality rods, rather than stockers. For the price of rebuilding stock rods and fitting them with ARP fasteners, for a little more you can get H-beams with ARP bolts already installed.

Main studs are a good idea as well. No need for 4-bolt caps with a small-journal block, because small journal caps are pretty thick. As the main size increased later, they just took the material out of the caps, without adding material.

I buzzed my stroker 283 (316ci... 283 bore/327 crank) to 8K on the dyno the other day, and didn't have to sweep anything up off the floor.

It stops making power a 6K though, so that's where I'll side-step the clutch in the car.

-Brad