Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects anyone mess with boats

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Stu, Dec 29, 2009.

1. Stu

Stu
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

wife wants a boat and I've got talked into something "classic" what am I getting myself into?

Attached Files:

2. stude_trucks

stude_trucks

big $'s and a lot of time (just like hot rods), but those old kick ass wooden ones sure are cool as hell

3. hrm2k

hrm2k
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

did boats for years..............no roll backs out there when they break.

4. The best day and the worst day are both the day you purchase it.

I have a 1978 Mastercraft Competition Ski boat. Sweet as hell, but take a lot of time to keep up. Cars are easier.

5. As far as affordable classics, I've always liked the Century's. I had a friend of the family that lived on Lake Washington and had a real clean late 60's Century Resorter, nice lines, composite wood/fiberglass hull which did not need as much upkeep as a true all wood classic.

Now that I live in Montana, those days are over... for now

6. 51 mercules

51 mercules

They're fun.Here's mine which came from Mississippi.PS it's for sale.LOL!

Attached Files:

7. alsancle

alsancle

8. Henry VIII

Henry VIII
    from Tulsa OK

A first class ski boat would be a Mastercraft or Malibu with the factory installed LT1 Corvette engine. Very dependable and pull like a John Deere.

Al

9. carcrazyjohn

carcrazyjohn
    from trevose pa

ebay pics 439.jpg I ve put together a few boats ,Just buy a fiberglass shell and buy another boat for motor and controls ,You really dont need guages in a boat ,Thats only if you use an outboard motor,Thats what I did for my first build 7 months and was done ,1200 total investment and alot of time.

10. Larry T

Larry T

Old saying around here-
    The two happiest days in a boat owners life are the day he buys it and the day he sells it.
    But I still wouldn't mind finding an old Stewart V-drive. (G)