Register now to get rid of these ads!

things have changed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by onlychevrolets, Nov 4, 2009.

1. rusty76

rusty76
    from Midway NC

You know I think sports in general have gotten lack luster for me. Any more it is like they're not the iron giants I rember as a kid. Baseball and football cards meant something. Now they're not worth the paper they were printed on to me. Though I never understood why a card would be worth so much.

2. Nads

Nads
    from Hypocrisy

Word.

3. onlychevrolets

onlychevrolets

Nads, I feel the same way.

4. Mazooma1

Mazooma1

I graduated from high school in 1968. At that time, the guys had to have your shirt tucked in and hair could not go over the ear. You had to also be clean shaven. We were allowed to wear shorts one day a year...it was called Bermuda Day.
    Shortly after I got out of high school, long hair was OK, shirts didn't need to be tucked in and you could grow a beard.
    The men teachers usually wore a suit, or at least a shirt and tie.
    Today it looks like a big gathering of winos, hippies and bums. The teachers almost look as bad as the students.

Teachers, the police and your parents ALWAYS got the last word.
    My generation grew up just fine and I believe that much of our generations success was based on the fact that we knew we weren't in charge and that we didn't know everything. Respect begets respect. Still does.

5. rustyford40

rustyford40
    from Mass Bay

I rember pumping gas at 27 cents a gal. But I was getting payed only 75 cents an houre to do it.

6. dabirdguy

dabirdguy
    Member Emeritus

I miss the times when most folk had MANNERS and did not make a lifestyle out of giving grief to someone else they needed to feel morally superior to.

I miss the satisfaction folks took out of doing a good job.

I miss Howdy Doody and the road runner cartoons.

I miss the HAMMS beer commercials with the Mamms bear. They were funny.