Register now to get rid of these ads!

Air bag questions....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CenValyCali, Oct 18, 2009.

1. CenValyCali

CenValyCali
    from Hanford

A buddy of mine brought his truck by the other day so I could check out his air bag setup in the back. I'm very new to air bags so I wanted to see what it looked like. I always thought in order to have air bags you needed a 2 link or 4 link but he just used his leaf spring to hold his rearend in place. Is this safe?:D Does anyone have pics of theirs done this way? I'm very interested in this style and would like to maybe do mine like this someday if it's going to be safe for my family to ride with me. I think it would cut down on the cost and work of the setup also. Please let me here your thoughts. O yeah it would go into a 53 plymouth with a v6 up front if it matters:D. No bags up front.

2. 58 Delpala

58 Delpala
    from NC

That is actually a very common way to install Air bags on a vehicle that you do not want, or need to get very low. Most Leaf spring vehicles will only get so low without a 4link and c-notch. This method is also used alot for helper springs to assist in leveling out a vehicle for carring heavy loads.

The key to this type of setup is to maintain a certain number of leafs so you retain the strength of the spring for durability but remove enough to allow it to get as low as you want it to get.

I can confidently say if you go this route you can drive it like that for many years without problems as long as it is done right.

3. CenValyCali

CenValyCali
    from Hanford

Thanks 55. Is it called something so I can search here on the Hamb for more info and pics? Anyone else want to share there experience and pics:D

4. CenValyCali

CenValyCali
    from Hanford

5. Insane 1

Insane 1
    from Ennis TX

I've been doing air ride for over 15 years everyday, He said all you really need to know.