Register now to get rid of these ads!

1955 Olds 324 tranny issues

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 2short, Oct 2, 2009.

1. 2short

2short
    from Florida

Hey guys, im new to the HAMB so please dont flame me if im outta line or something. I got a 1955 Olds with the stock rocket 324 in it. Came with the 4speed Hydramatic Transmission but its really acting up. From what i understand they werent all that great back then and most people opt for a newer turbo 350/400 swap. My question is, does anyone know if its just a straight bolt on or if it needs and adapter plate? If so, how much would one cost? Would it just be cheaper to rebuild the hydramatic that came with it? any insight at all that you can give me would be hugely appreciated. Im new to the hot rod scene and am basically cutting my teeth on this old girl...

thanks

2. JohnEvans

JohnEvans
    from Phoenix AZ

That is a a VERY tough trans. Ya ever hear of a B&M Hydro? Used in blown Hemi gasser etc. A Turbo whatever will not be a straight bolt in. Ya need to find a older trans guy that knows those Hydros and fix it.

3. GOATROPER02

GOATROPER02
    from OHIO

Hi,
    If you search the classifieds under my user name youll find pics of my conversion.Real clean install
    If you need help please ph 330-720-1282 anytime up till 12:00pm EST

Tony

4. r8odecay

r8odecay

What do you mean by 'acting up'...several Hydro pros on here may be able to help you diagnose. They require adjustment and all that...

5. wvenfield

wvenfield

I'm not pro but I just did battle with mine. LOL

No, your can't just bolt up a 350. You need an adapter that will run perhaps half of a rebuild.

As noted just above, what's it doing and give us a background. Have you adjusted anything? Changed anything recently?

It could be something simple.

6. 55oldsrocket

55oldsrocket
    from Santa Ana