Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 57 Belvedere 4 Door Gone Mad

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Racrdad, Sep 16, 2009.

1. Racrdad

Racrdad

This is my first project post on the HAMB and constructive criticism is welcomed. Pointers, tips and tricks that all you guys with lots of building experience have will come in helpful I'm sure. So after having the Lunar Lander and the Atomic Punk stuck in my head since the 08 Lone Star Roundup I decided I needed to have a shot at this show rod thing. This is my first shot at a build of this nature and my first shot at a car older than 64 so I am kind of winging this whole deal really. After a few months of keeping my eyes open and looking around I came across a 57 Belvedere 4 door. Loved the shape of the quarters and after a few days of pondering it I brought it home. I actually started on this about the first part of July and will post up progress pics as I get time. This is what I started with:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Once I got it inside the cutting began. I cut it well oversize what I thought I might end up using. Easier to cut again than to try and make it bigger. With the car still on the trailer I cut the quarters and rear doors off in 2 sections.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So with the car and trailer out of the way, the quarters with rear doors still attached are set up on some plastic crates to get a visual idea of where I might be heading with this thing.

[​IMG]

After gutting the inner structure out of the skins my buddy Rob helped me make the final overall width decision and tack it back together. Then the door skins were tacked onto the quarters.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So we put a wheel and tire next to it and got another visual of where this thing is heading.

[​IMG]