Register now to get rid of these ads!

Craftsmanship...who really cares?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by theHIGHLANDER, Sep 7, 2009.

1. poboyross

poboyross
    from West TN

I'm new to the scene, so I'm not going to profess to be all ho-fessional and all that jazz, but I do the best I can. To some eyes, it probably sucks. I'm not doing a body off restoration, so that would probably draw some looks..."You just up and painted the leaf springs while attached to the shackles? wtf?"....um...yeah....until I can get time to take the body off, it was a better option than letting rust have its' way.

I obsess over little things, like the .5 mm nick in the fresh paint job on my new engine that I painted yesterday. I always try to do things as right as possible, and I think a lot of other people do, too. I think the *big* difference is that I don't think my work is golden, much to the contrary. The problem would be people who think theirs is great and others is crap. If they don't know what they're doing, politely try to instruct them. If they come to you asking questions, don't be a douche...answer it for them so they can do it right. Not much good in bitching about others shoddy work if you're not trying to be nice and help them do it right. People only know they're doing it wrong if they've been notified they're doing it wrong.

I'm DEFINITELY a perfectionist....I always thing everybody else's work on here is perfect, and mine is crap! ;)

2. roddinron

roddinron

Funny that we're putting this much importance on cars. This problem has permeated our entire society, no one takes pride in quality, it's all just get it done quick, and get the money. Very few people ever take the time to learn how to do it right, or even want to.