Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Need some input on my first rod, 1950 Merc.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by JustBusiness, Apr 12, 2009.

1. JustBusiness

JustBusiness

Hello everyone, forgive some of my newbie questions, but I am new to the hot rod/ custom car world.

I want to build (have built probably) my dream car, a 1950 Merc.

I want a custom look to the car (a 4-6" chop). I want it finished in matte black paint. I want a brand new fuel injected engine, modern suspension, disc brakes, auto trans.Matte Black Merc

I do not plan on this being a show-car, but a driver.

So here are my questions;

Should i buy an "in-progress" car and have it finished? Or a completed car and have it painted?

If not, should I start from the ground up on an original body, or a new fiberglass body? Fiberglass Merc

Any input is greatly appreciated. My time-frame is unlimited, I want to start my research immediately.

Thanks,

Justin

2. punkabilly1306

punkabilly1306
    from ohio

first why would you want to buy a "finished" car with nice shiny paint and slap some matte finish on it? You would be better off buying an original merc and having it done the way you want...but i can assure you that as time goes on you will see your build progress and realise that a merc deserves shiny paint and not matte

3. Cirilian

Cirilian

Welcome. If you can find an "in-progress" car that would probably be the best way to go, provided that the work already done doesn't have to be re-done. I would stay away from the fiberglass.

4. Justin, maybey you should start out with a pinto, or a pacer, mabey even a gremlin, and work your way up to a merc. Pay your dues boy....
    Besides,I think you legally have to be a card carrying member member of the american Grafitti fan club, dress like Fonzie, and keep half a quart of oil up in your hair to be legaly able to buy an old shoebox mercury.