Register now to get rid of these ads!

Jag front end under a ’51 Chevy hardtop?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Evil Wicked Mean & Nasty, Mar 25, 2009.

1. Is the Jag front end too wide for a '51 Chevy hardtop? Has anybody done this swap on a '49-'54? I have to make a decision, I have a bolt in Mustang II cross member I can use, and get Pinto parts and rebuild to go on it, buy dropped spindles and a big brake kit, etc... Seems like it'll get relatively expensive by the time it's a roller.

Or, I can get a complete Jag front end for a couple hundred bucks or less. I'm wondering about things like fender clearance problems, stering shaft, exhaust and oil pan (400 SBC or 400 Pontiac for an engine), clearance etc.. Or any other problem you may have had installing the Jag IFS.

I have zero knowledge about the Jag front end other than it looks like it would be a pretty straight forward install so any info would be appreciated.

2. Pir8Darryl

Pir8Darryl

3. zman

zman
    from Garner, NC

As much as I like the Jag stuff if you have a bolt in crossmember that is going to by far be the path of least resistance. Cost wise it will probably be a wash as you should rebuild the Jag stuff as well. I'm thinking just off the top of my head that the Jag may be a bit wide for the 51 as well. I don't have the measurements handy though so that's just a gut feeling.

4. tmf

tmf

Here is one with a XJ6 frnt end with the stock Jag wheels. Width is fine. Sorry this is the best piccy i have at the moment.
    [​IMG]

5. atomickustom

atomickustom

If you can do the Jag for less money that's what I'd do.