Register now to get rid of these ads!

Y-Block valve adjustment advice needed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BIGREDTODD, Mar 6, 2009.

1. So I read the valve adjusting info in the factory 1956 shop manual, and Ford recommends .019" clearance, while running and warm...

Just wondering how many of you guys do it this way versus cold (static) adjustment while not running?

The subject is my '56 T-bird, 312 c.i. with a mild cam. (solid lifters)

The only reason I ask is I have had similar results doing it both ways on a poly-318, and have heard it done both ways on solid lifter SBC's.

Todd

Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  2. :rolleyes:Bueller...Bueller?

3. I'm a retired mechanic, that has done many valve grinds on solid lifter engines and I'll tell you first that it is always good to follow the directions in the book. Now I'll tell you what I have learned, on a street engine when I pulled the valve covers and rechecked the lash 9 times out of ten it was not worth burning your fingers, but there is always that one time and I was earning a living so I did it . Just curious, what did you find out about the headers?

4. landseaandair

landseaandair
    from phoenix

I'd just set it with the engine warm and not running. They probably recommend that method just to idiot proof things for the average Joe and avoid the whole discussion on how to make sure the lifters are on the base circle.

5. Duner

Duner
    from Wisconsin

On my 312 I always set lash with engine at slow idle. I don't have jam nuts on mine so that makes it easier. You also know right now if tappet sound varies. I can adjust mine in a few minutes with engine running.

6. 29nash

29nash
    BANNED
    from colorado

Warmed up, low idle

7. Don't have it anymore,but when I had a 56 Ford I did it with it running.I liked to hear the difference in the adjustments.

8. Thanks for the advice everyone...