Register now to get rid of these ads!

Was Anyone Here Actually There?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Tony Bones, May 8, 2005.

1. tubman

tubman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I'm 66 and I was there, in Minnesota, what there was here. When I was in high school in the '50's, I had a '51 Ford 4-door inherited from my brother. Some where along the line, the engine was rebuilt and I had the heads shaved and added a Mallory dual-point conversion (it was all I could afford). Because just about everybody had a car that had a worn out engine, I was the guy to beat in those days (the 4.11 gears for the overdrive transmission helped a lot). After I graduated from high school in '60, I went to the University of Minnesota in the fall. At the same time, a buddy of mine and I decided to go drag racing. We bought a '36 5-window coupe and a '42 Merc engine from Carmichel's Auto Parts in Excelsior and started to work on it over the winter. We both dropped out of the "U" for the spring quarter, got our tuition refund, and used it buy a set of finned aluminum heads and a dual carb manifold. I set of "racing" points and a modified distributor top so we could run a "hot" coil completed the set up. We ran "D/Altered" for two years at Minnesota Dragways, and had a best ET of 16.44. Weren't much. but we had a hell of a good time. Plus, we were "heroes" in our home town, because we had the only real "race car".