Register now to get rid of these ads!

electric wipers, on the cheap

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 62rebel, Nov 9, 2008.

1. 62rebel

62rebel

while i was standing in the rod magazine section at Barnes and Noble i was reading through several different mags looking for new ideas/old shit and happened on an article on installing electric wipers in and old Ford truck originally equipped with vacuum wipers. being a real skeptical kind of guy i read on, and lo and behold the setup they were using was the exact same setup as used in a freaking MG midget..... the actual motor pushes and pulls on a coarse cable that runs through small gearboxes that mount under each wiper arm, and 3/8" tubing with flares on it holds the cable in place. i'm no engineer, but i can tell that it would be WAAAAY cheaper to pull these parts from a junked MG or Spitfire and modify them instead of paying through the ass for new stuff. the install was so straightforward that it could have been printed without instructions.

sooo... check those British cars the next trip through the scrapyard. save yer money for beer and gas.

2. fordcragar

fordcragar
    from Yakima WA.

Are there any other cars, and what years, that have similar wiper installations? Some of the older British cars are getting harder to find parts for.

3. Abomination

Abomination

I got yer wiper motors right here!
    http://www.victoriabritish.com/

They're in Lenexa, KS - right down the street from LMC truck - and have been around about forever. Get a free catalog - at the very least, you'll have a parts list and exploded view for reference when going to the junkyard. ;)

Here's a pic from their catalog!

~Jason

[​IMG]

4. 62rebel

62rebel

that can be true. if it's not a challenge, what's the point?

5. studebaker46

studebaker46