Register now to get rid of these ads!

I want to strip my car

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by The Hyena, Jun 5, 2008.

1. The Hyena

The Hyena

I would really like to strip my car down to the bare metal and start over from there....

whats the best way of going about this... (im a beginner at everything) i just dont want to mess anything up....

its a 50 shoebox and i would like it to look like this, before i chop and paint it...

[​IMG]

itll need ALOT of work to look this clean, but thats what i want...

2. chopolds

chopolds
    from howell, nj
    1. Kustom Painters

The BEST way....pay someone to do it!
    It a dirty, nasty messy job. Lots of options, media blasting, paint stripper, DAing, hand sanding, my current fav...paint stripper discs on a 4 1/2" grinder, even heard of guys using a single edge razor ro do a whole car.
    How much time you got? Can you make a mess where you are doing it? Dusty mess, or gooey mess? Consider your limitations before choosing a method!

3. Rob Paul

Rob Paul

Get it soda blasted. Then get the rust spots blasted with starblast or sand.

ROB

4. I've gone the way of the 41/2" grinder with the stripping discs from the Depot. It truly is messy, and make some really fine dust, so make sure you wear a mask. And block out some time, because it isn't quick, but it is the best metal finish that my "piss hands" have ever produced.:eek:

5. what about "the dip"? i dont know alot about the stuff other than ive heard acouple people do it and we used it at work to strip powdercoat off a huge order of impliment stuff. worked great on that, but does it take care of rust?

6. UnIOnViLLEHauNT

UnIOnViLLEHauNT