Register now to get rid of these ads!

Small Block Ford (302) Manual OD Tranny Questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by the-rodster, May 2, 2008.

1. the-rodster

the-rodster

A bud, (Farmboat) has 48 F1 running a 302 and an older 4 speed.

The 4 speed is about fried.

He is thinking about going with a 5 speed and OD.

What is the cheapest/easiest solution?

I don't know shit, but I would think grabbing a T5 from a 94-95 5.0 Mustang, and swapping in the s-10 tailshaft for shifter location, would be an easy route.

Again, I'm no expert.

What do you guys think?

Thanks,
    Rich

2. bigolds

bigolds

sounds like you've got it nailed.... Some friends of mine have done this swap!!!!

3. Malcolm

Malcolm
    from Nebraska

The '94-'95 T5 has a longer input shaft, compared to the earlier Mustang T5s. You'll need to keep that in mind, unless you are getting the '94-'95 bellhousing with it.

Malcolm

4. bartikus

bartikus

i know that you can get an adapter plate to bolt the t5 onto the older toploader bell housing that way you wont have to figure out the whole cable clutch. you can keep the clutch likage the way it is. i think a t5 is a great way to go. gives you more gears to slam.

5. the-rodster

the-rodster

Who makes it?

We we're wondering about how to tackle the clutch linkage.

6. Malcolm

Malcolm
    from Nebraska

Mcleod makes the adapter, but it's kind of expensive:
    http://store.summitracing.com/egnsearch.asp?N=700+400374+316286+115+4294900927&autoview=sku

I don't think the cable linkage is really that complicated. I've been looking at putting the same setup in my Galaxie. I've already purchased a Mustang clutch pedal setup and it looks like it will be a fairly straight-forward install. There is also huge aftermarket support for the Mustang parts....

7. Flat Ernie

Flat Ernie
    Tech Editor