Register now to get rid of these ads!

Crossfire Flathead

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Yestertech, Feb 14, 2008.

1. Yestertech

Yestertech

A novice here. Would someone explain what a early '50s Crossfire Flathead is. I'm close to purchasing an early 50s Ford Midget racer with this engine. He wants a premium price because of this motor. Any help would be appreciated.

2. alchemy

alchemy

Does he mean a 180 degree crank? Changes the firing order and the balance. Was a trick used on sprinters back then, but fairly rare. Believe Norton made the cranks.

3. nailheadroadster

nailheadroadster

I have never heard one personally, but my ol man swears they are the coolest sounding flatty you'll ever hear.

If you end up buyin it, PLEASE do a youtube video and send me a link.

4. flatjack

flatjack

There are two ways to do it. I have a 180* crank with a cam timed so 2 cylinders fire at the same time. Got another with a stock crank and a modified cam to fire 2 cylinders at the same time. Haven't done anything with them yet, so don't know what the firing order is. Also need the modified distibutor. My understanding was that they produced more low end torque and were strong coming out of the corners.

5. banjorear

banjorear

I've read that the premise is to avoid the delution of exhaust gas and incoming air from the shared exhaust port in the middle.

I true 180 firing flathead actually sounds like a 4 cly. Ford. Still sounds cool, but not as radical sounding as you would think.

6. Abomination

Abomination

7. Digger_Dave

Digger_Dave
    Member Emeritus

If it DOES have an 180 degree crank; then it will have a DIFFERENT CAM.
    As alchemy says, "It would have a different firing order, and been balanced differently."

If the seller is agreeable, see if he would allow you to drop the pan, and remove a couple of rod caps to inspect rod journal condition. (would also remove the center main cap and inspect)