Register now to get rid of these ads!

T5 Info

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Flat Ernie, Jun 20, 2004.

1. I am just getting started with putting a T-5 into my 57 half ton. Will be posting pics as soon as it's done.......

2. Flat Ernie

Flat Ernie
    Tech Editor

I posted the file over at Fordbarn & one of the guys over there posted this:
    http://pomoforacing.com/tech/T5Rebuild2002.pdf

This is an oustanding practical rebuild guide - as opposed to the technical rebuild guide I linked to before. It has lots of the mods & upgrades that you can do.

It also points out the differences between early/late tailshafts & the synchro on the 5th gear/countershaft oiler...an area to watch if you're putting an S10 tailshaft onto a WC T5.

3. I thank you also Ernie..

4. Southfork

Southfork

Hey, yeah, thanks, Ernie!

5. Jeff Norwell

Jeff Norwell
    Staff Member

Many thanks Ernie!!

6. Mad-Lad

Mad-Lad
    from California

Thanks for the info Flat Erni.....Im in the process of putting a T-5 behind a 53 Merc and your info helped me out a bundle....Thanks again...

p.s.....any neat tricks and hints I should keep an eye out for when performing this?:confused:

7. sodapop

sodapop
    from Tejas

wow, thanks for the info.

8. burger

burger

Ernie,

Thank you for the links. I had never seen the second (less formal) rebuild guide. It's great!

Here's a link to a chart that a HAMBer (name long forgotten, sorry!) sent to me to host on my website:

http://www.pages.drexel.edu/~erb22

A while back, you'd mentioned that you've been adding to the chart and have a more complete version. If you wouldn't mind, I'd love to update my chart with your information.

Thanks!
    Ed

9. kornbinder

kornbinder
    from Sonora, CA

10. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

"I wonder how you identify one of these T5 trannies when the ID tag that the article talks about has somehow become detached from the tranny and lost? "