Register now to get rid of these ads!

mig welding while on medical oxygen ...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 49ratfink, Jul 5, 2007.

1. belair

belair

If he's got bad lungs now, what will it be like to snort a puff of fire? DUM DUM DUM

2. Shifty Shifterton

Shifty Shifterton

Kicking people when they're down ain't cool. :mad: Grow up dude.

There's a thousand reasons people end up on oxygen. Most were considered "safe" in their day.

3. Moonglow2

Moonglow2

A fire needs three things to sustain itself. Heat, fuel and oxygen. A spark(heat) on his clothing (carbon fuel source), pure oxygen in close proximity and you have a human barbeque. Is this guy related to Forrest Gump?

4. Petejoe

Petejoe
    from Zoar, Ohio

During my training as an EMT I spent some time in the emergency in training as the patients arrived.
    A lady arrived with 3rd degree burns on her face, nose, mouth and throat. Here I find out she was smoking and using oxygen at the same time. I never found out if she lived or not.
    That guy is in big trouble. Read these posts to him.

5. HeyMang

HeyMang

"The Brudwich" pretty much summed it all up.

Yeah, its dangerous. Im a cryogenic mechanic and work on, among other things, LOX trailers. Every year we get training on oxygen compatibility and a demonstration yielding in a lot of BOOMS.

They set up a 40lb weight on a string and drop it from 24" onto an "oily object" covered with just a little liquid oxygen. Objects include: axle grease, motor oil, potato chips, cigarette butts, and OLD bleached asphalt. They all go BOOM, and believe me the boom is exponentially bigger than the lifting charge on a 4th of July Mortar. The explosion is big enough to send the 40lb weight back up in the air almost as high as when it started (24"). Oil and Oxygen DO NOT MIX.

Be safe, people.

6. It's not the oxygen that burns... and the nose piece isn't the issue, either. If the oxygen permeates his clothes they will burn hot and fast.