Register now to get rid of these ads!

Why am I not getting oil to the top end on my 460?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hudsoncustom, Jun 3, 2007.

1. I've been building this damn Hudson for 9 years, and I'm at the point where I'm wired and ready for engine break in.

The engine is a 460 Ford.

I pulled the coil wire, and turned the it over to prime the engine with oil. I noted that there was no oil pressure at the gauge. I checked the oil filter, and it was full of oil, so I know that the pump is working.

I pulled the valve covers, and see that there is no oil coming through the pushrods....I'm just not getting any oil up to the top of the engine.

A friend suggested one of the oil gallery plugs may have been left out of the engine on assembly. I had the plugs installed along with the cam bearings at the machine shop, but honestly, I built the engine 7.5 years ago, and I can't remember for the life of me if I saw the plugs in there.

I figure that if one of the plugs was left out, the oil would just bypass the top end and fall back into the pan? Is this correct? From what I know, there are 6 plugs...2 at the front of the block, 2 under the intake, and 2 at the rear of the block. If one of the rear 2 were left out, the thing would be puking oil on the floor I suppose...so it must be under the front cover or the intake.

Anybody had any similar experiences, or is there something else I should be checking before I pull the whole damn thing apart?

2. AnimalAin

AnimalAin

If you are a Ford guy, you know that the distributor (and oil pump) rotates opposite of one of those brand-X motors, right?

I only point this out because I have screwed it up myself.......

3. Yeah, counterclockwise. I don't see how the direction of rotation would make any difference though. The problem is not that I can't get the car to run, it runs. The problem is that the oil is not getting to the top end.

4. 1950ChevySuburban

1950ChevySuburban
    Member Emeritus