Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tips on cutting angle iron?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 49 Fastback, Mar 25, 2007.

1. 49 Fastback

49 Fastback
    from Ohio

I'm making some stuff for the garage and I'm having a deuce of a time getting nice cuts in 1/8" angle. Any tips for making a nice square, smooth cut?
    Am I using the wrong tool? I'm using a 4 inch grinder with a cutting wheel. I have a jigsaw I could throw a metal-cutting blade in, and a hacksaw. but I was looking for "easy". Apparently I may have to rethink that.

And I'm not going to go out and buy a plasma cutter, so don't suggest it! :rolleyes:

Tucker

2. 2manybillz

2manybillz

I have a lot of hacksaw experience (too much). I had the most success starting the cut at the point of the vee and cutting both sides equally. Is this clear? I'm low on coffee. I'd try it this way with the grinder.

3. .one word.........chopsaw!

4. 47bob

47bob

Chop saw is best but with a hacksaw: mark the outside of the piece well then cut on the lines almost half way through both sides. These previous cuts will help guide the blade and keep it straight. .....Bob

5. We were taught not to push down on the saw, but to lets its own weight do that. If you push too hard, the blade bends in umpredictable directions and steers the cut off course.

Nowadays, I push a little and it seems to be ok. You can always leave a little extra and then clean it up with a grinder or sander.

6. monzadood

monzadood
    BANNED

i cut all angle with a chopsaw. there are good to have around. its a tool most of my freinds don`t have in their garage. they seem to think, why buy one ? we can use keiths....

7. dana barlow

dana barlow
    from Miami Fla.
    1. Y-blocks