Register now to get rid of these ads!

1953 ford flathead questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by gavin, Mar 17, 2007.

1. gavin

gavin
    from Sonoma

I am looking at doing some trading with a friend. Its a 53 ford crestline hardtop. Cool car, needs work, has original flathead and 3 speed. It's a good runner with low miles. I am not a motor expert, and my flathead knowledge is even worse. As for the anyone that is going to tell me to put a 350 in it, well go fuck yourself. I really have 3 questions
    1.) What would you flathead experts do to get the cleanest best running reliable engine you can get. I know waterpumps are an issue and I understand that speedway makes good replacements. I know there are MSD ignitions units for these as well, and I do see a lot of questions regarding points and problems with them.
    2.) It's got a good 3 speed trans in it, which I will probably keep but I would like to know what options I have for going to an auto trans.
    3.) I want to keep it pretty stock, but I am considering airbagging it. There are airride kits for the older fords I know that could work with some modifications, but I am just wondering if anyone here has some good advice on air bagging this car. I know there are easy solutions to lowering it, and I would keep it at that but I have this crazy driveway that will destroy the car getting it to my garage.
    Any advice is much appriciated!

2. VonXulu

VonXulu
    from Ventura Ca

Fix your driveway, you seem to already know everything else.

3. flathead okie

flathead okie

Speedway sells a automatic trans kit if you go that way. That's all I got, sorry

4. Cadien

Cadien

I run a 53 Mercury flathead. It's been a fun and reliable motor. It's bored .030, and runs 2 94s, but is otherwise stock. I did switch to a Mallory distributor and alternator when I switched to 12 volt. I got tired of messing with points. The Mallory was one of the best moves I ever made.