Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Paint Booth Alternative

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TheSteamDoc, Dec 1, 2022.

1. TheSteamDoc

TheSteamDoc

I'm wanting to paint a vehicle. I'll be using single stage. I don't have a paint booth. I'm a south east Georgia resident. What's a alternative to a paint booth? And when's a good season for it? I do have fairly large garage to myself.

Lloyd's paint & glass likes this.
  2. twenty8

twenty8

Last edited: Dec 1, 2022
    Just Gary, wicarnut and Dustin 257 like this.
  3. Shutt

Shutt

I painted mine in my barn. I’ve painted 2 cars with single stage polyurethane enamel this way. Spend a lot of time on the prep, choose a windless morning and use reducer to compensate for temperature differences. Wet down the floor if you have concrete and use common sense.

Just Gary likes this.
  4. Shutt

Shutt

9BC13FE1-23AA-4830-89B4-36167D9B4182.jpeg 43A6E7BC-6B94-45E4-B701-006C9E69585E.jpeg AB63F06E-E0CE-4297-87A8-30E00B36BB27.jpeg 03A81D1E-AFDB-4BB0-A954-AA4D4DCF7534.jpeg

5. flatheadpete

flatheadpete
    from Burton, MI

See...a helpful response without being snarky.
    I painted my car in my driveway (Michigan) in August. It was way hot and humid and the paint flashed to quickly in some spots. Still looks decent after 11 years.

6. Maybe @Bandit Billy will chime in.
    I know he used an inflatable with success.
    Myself, outside in the elements..and my paint jobs show it.

vtx1800 and Budget36 like this.