Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Low Model A Rear suspension/wishbone setup

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by yblockguynz, May 15, 2017.

1. yblockguynz

yblockguynz

Hey guys, this is my first build, and first post about it. Building a low y block powered traditional looking 1928 model a Tudor with my dad bryan (kiwi 4d). We are in the process of doing a z in the rear and setting up suspension ect, we have a 45-46 setup and the frame we have was built for a pickup And extended to suit rear spring, problems we are having Is that with the height we want to achieve the wishbone will clash with body and chassis. What other options are put there? Besides 4 link as we want to keep traditional theme
    Thanks guys
    The Kilsby's from New Zealand

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. yblockguynz

yblockguynz

We have realised it's not possible to run 46 style wishbone spring mounts without hacking the body to much, so will be running a standard type spring over diff and shortening chassis to suit, just need an alternative wishbone setup

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

3. Tim_with_a_T

Tim_with_a_T

I'll let others weigh in on this, but that rear axle you have is a '35-'36, not '45-'46. I can't quite tell from the photos, but it looks like someone put juice brakes on it already. As you probably already know, the Model A had the spring on top of the axle, and that axle you have has the spring behind. There are lots of different ways to get the rear lower than stock, some of them easier than others. Like I said, I'll let others weigh in on this.

4. Kiwi 4d

Kiwi 4d
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

My son is learning on a steep curve and knows what he wants , and has a vision for the look, but yes the rear is 35/36 with juice brakes.