Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Keeping the windshield from fogging up

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by HOTRODPRIMER, Oct 29, 2021.

1. Driving during the winter an d with the temperatures being cooler I am constantly wiping the windshield to keep it clear, especially when its cool and raining, much like today, my car lacks defrost and I have been looking for something to alleviate the occasional problem.

As I was researching alternatives I ran across this item, of course it is from the much maligned harbor freight, but it's cheap, works off a 12 volt accessory plug in and might just do the job.

Have any of you guys used anything like this in the past? HRP
    12v Auto Defroster With Light
    image_21891.jpg

Truck64 likes this.
  2. Truck64

Truck64
    from Ioway

I think maybe Rain-X applied to the inside helps with that. Or spit, like we did when snorkeling!

3. goldmountain

goldmountain

I have no experience with that unit, but here in Canada, defrost is not really an option. However, I have always wondered how the Model A guys run defrost with that gas tank there.

HOTRODPRIMER likes this.
  4. G-son

G-son
    from Sweden

Have not used, but in general, you need a ridiculusly large current to make any significant amount of heat with 12V. If it uses 10A for example it gives of just 120W, not much compared to proper electric heat fans for your home and such, pumping out up to a few thousand watts.

In a car the absolutely most sensible way to get heat is to use the waste heat in the cooling system.

5. On my '35 pick-up I open the windshield a bit and crack a door window open.....keeps the windshield clear, but it gets a bit chilly in the cab......if you have a heater, run a flexible duct from it to the windshield.....

VF-1 and HOTRODPRIMER like this.
  6. I use Rain X anti fog.

7. Casey Riley

Casey Riley
    from Minnesota

Polish the glass with Barbasol Shaving foam. The classic one, not the one with aloe.