Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Norton' Liquid Ice vs 3M Buff and Polish...any feedback?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by roll of the dices, Oct 28, 2021.

1. Looking for some feedback...
    I am about to start cutting and buffing my freshly painted roadster and wondering which one should I use, hoping someone with some experience can chime in.
    Looking for ease to use but most important best results.
    I have a basecoat, clear coat paint system.

Norton's seem easy enough, which my be good for a first timer like me
    1 compound, 3 pads

Screen Shot 2021-10-28 at 12.42.25 PM.png

3M's is 3 pads, 3 compounds. I read some reviews and claims better results but more time consuming

Screen Shot 2021-10-28 at 12.42.39 PM.png

2. jimmy six

jimmy six
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Just a question. Are you going to color sand first or start with the compounds?
    I am not a professional by any means but was told, and it worked for me, to color sand all surfaces finishing with 3000 before compounds. I usually started with 1000 when I got better with paint/clear. Also tape all edges and corners 1/4” in so not to go thru to metal.
    I’ve used 3M, an older series, and was pleased with the outcome. I still have some.

olscrounger and fauj like this.
  3. Yes, I plan to color sand. 1000/2500/3000
    Good idea using 1/4" tape on edges. I will be doing that for sure

4. Jones St.

Jones St.

What polisher/buffer are you using? How much prior experience do you have using it?

5. I can narrow down my experience to a handful of hours.
    Did the bells for the roadster a few small parts but nothing as big as a body, doors, hood and trunk
    I have a HF polisher but been eyeing a used dewalt

thumbnail_IMG_7129.jpg

6. Jones St.

Jones St.