Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects An Amateur Chops a Brookville Coupe & More

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bcap55, Nov 26, 2018.

1. krylon32

krylon32
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Nebraska
    1. Central Nebraska H.A.M.B.

Really like your work. Your fabrication skills are excellent. I've been a fabricator for over 40 years and am looking at the air compressor bracket and thinking that since you cut the notch for the spark plug you may have created a weak spot. How about a leg down from the front edge of your bracket to the motor mount bolt on the block. I've seen some incredibly heavy air pump brackets fail under the stress of a tight belt and the starting and stopping of the compressor. Not being critical, I'm an over builder.

brady1929 and loudbang like this.
  2. rockable

rockable
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I think we should just call him "Hack". What do you think?

loudbang and j hansen like this.
  3. Bcap55

Bcap55
    from PA, USA

I actually anticipated having to add more bracing to the compressor bracket, but after mounting the compressor I was surprised how sturdy this bracket is. The piece with the spark plug cutout is 5/16" thick, I can grab the compressor and try to bend and twist the bracket but there is almost no movement. I'm confident in my welds and I feel that this will work fine as is.
    I do appreciate your input.

loudbang likes this.
  4. SDS

SDS

I work at a firearms company with some top notch handle turners and have to say - that is amazing!

Last edited: Oct 4, 2021
    loudbang and j hansen like this.
  5. SDS

SDS

Nice trans tunnel!
    Did you give clearance for removal of the trans-to-engine bolts, or are you relying on the trans tunnel being removable?

loudbang likes this.
  6. Bcap55

Bcap55
    from PA, USA