Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Scintilla Vertex Magneto

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by De Konjel, Feb 7, 2021.

1. In a box of parts I got I found a Sincilla Vertex Magneto. I have no experience with this type of ignition.
    Can I use this on a Ford Model A engine? It looks cool. How does it work? Can someone give me an introduction to Magneto's. The only numbers on the data plate that I can read are 400-450-1000. IMG_20210207_185933.jpeg IMG_20210207_185941.jpeg IMG_20210207_190017.jpeg

Sent from my SNE-LX1 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

kidcampbell71 likes this.
  2. Paul

Paul
    Editor

Anything is possible,
    It will need to be gone through, at that time they could add correct base, rotation, advance or whatever needed to make it work for you.
    Cap might be worth as much as the magneto as it sits if it's in nice condition.
    I wouldn't pay more than a hundred or so, considering how much work it needs.

3. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

Internet man, internet..! You'll find most all there is about them (Vertex) within...the internet.
    Not familiar with that shaft end configuration.
    What "box" did you find it in...a Model A, parts box ? If so, it might just fit, a Model A engine. What's left of the ignition wires suggest so.

Mike

4. It was in a box with other A parts so I assumed it would fit my A engine.

5. jimmy six

jimmy six
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Hold a wire end and turn it. :rolleyes:

6. 19Eddy30

19Eddy30
    from VA

X2^^^
    Or Pull the cap off there will be a contactComing from the base about 2 inch long ,hold it with fingers or about a 1/4 inch from metal spin the cam gear with hand see if it arcs or light you up !!,

jaracer and jimmy six like this.
  7. MojoRacing

MojoRacing

^^^^ Scintilla shuffle!!

jimmy six likes this.
  8. Angry Frenchman

Angry Frenchman