Register now to get rid of these ads!

First engine build, suggestions happily welcomed!

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by Ryan Dyck, Jul 29, 2021.

1. Ryan Dyck

Ryan Dyck

So I am very new to old American engines and am about to start my first; my dad is letting me have the 283 out of his chevelle and I would like to build it, I am going to pick up a set of 305 heads and 4 barrel intake and carb, crank and a bunch of other parts for quite cheap, just wondering what everyone’s suggestions were for the cam and exactly what kind of work I should do to the heads or any information that might be useful, thank you in advance to anyone that comments, it’s much appreciated!
    P.S
    I know there is options that make more power that are cheap but I’m getting this engine for free and there’s some sentimental value with it coming from my dads chevelle

2. 55blacktie

55blacktie