Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Attaching metal to metal question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 1pickup, Jul 26, 2021.

1. 1pickup

1pickup

OK, I have a dumb idea to use some 1" tall, 1/8" thick laser cut metal letters on one of my builds. The "correct" way, would probably be to make a jig & "emboss" the letters into the panel. But, if you were gonna take the easy way out & attach them to sheetmetal (think dashboard, fender, etc.), how would you do it? First thought was to mig weld the perimeter, but all that grinding sounds like work. I don't have a tig, so don't suggest it. I'm considering drilling holes & rosette weld from the back side. I have no experience with panel bonding agents, but that seems like an option as well. Thoughts?

loudbang likes this.
  2. manyolcars

manyolcars

3. As long as it is not on an area that is going to flex or twist a lot I would panel bond it. That will give you a complete seal against any moisture getting behind it. You can get panel bonds that work in a regular caulking gun so no need to worry about specialized guns.

4. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

This.

1pickup, Stogy and loudbang like this.

5. Torana68

Torana68
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Australia

Silver solder if it’s somewhere won’t distort with heat , tig maybe

6. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

Not only are modern cars bonded together (BMW, Jaguar, Porsche, Corvette, etc), but every airplane that you fly in has more glue in it, than rivets..!

This is a hint...

Mike

fauj and loudbang like this.
  7. Glue don't warp....

Stogy and loudbang like this.
  8. JimSibley

JimSibley

Panel bond for sure!

jetnow1, Stogy and loudbang like this.
  9. But glue isn't traditional!

slayer, Flathead Dave and Budget36 like this.
  10. 1pickup

1pickup