Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Can you move a rear axle back on parallel leaf springs ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dutchrod, Jul 11, 2021.

1. dutchrod

dutchrod

With a parallel leaf spring set up can you increase the wheelbase bij just moving te axle back on the parallel leaf springs or would that affect the springs travel or load to much ?
    On my 33 Plymouth chassis I'm looking for a 4 inch longer wheelbase.( rear body will be custom)
    Ik can cut the frame and ad the 4 inch or just move the axle back.
    I have no experience with parallel setups and the search did not help.

2. chop&drop

chop&drop

The rear axle perches locate on the spring perch bolt that holds the spring together. You can move the whole leaf spring assembly back 4 inches by either relocating it on the frame or lengthening the frame but you can’t just move the axle back 4” on the leaf pack.

jaracer likes this.
  3. 19Fordy

19Fordy

You may need a longer drive shaft so your universal joints engage properly.
    4 inches is a lot.

4. dutchrod

dutchrod

I'm aware of the drive shaft that needs to get longer.

5. dutchrod

dutchrod

I have seen "axle relocation plates that put the axle offset off the center , I can fabricate them but don't know if 4 inch is to much ?

Something like this :

WFO-1700-2.5-KIT.jpg

6. dutchrod

dutchrod

7. Rand Man

Rand Man

From an engineering standpoint, it won’t work the way the factory intended, but actually could work. You will loose suspension travel if you don’t extend the rear spring shackles. That could raise the rear up. Best option is to leave the spring section alone and add inches ahead of the front shackle.

8. TA DAD

TA DAD
    from NC

What about a different length spring, different length segments.

oldiron 440 likes this.
  9. dutchrod

dutchrod

I will go that route but was just wondering if it would work.
    Short cuts are never good I guess