Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical ***June 2021 Banger Meet Thread - How's Your 4 Cylinder***

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Jiminy, Jun 1, 2021.

1. hardtimesainit

hardtimesainit

Hey 97,
    The important aspect, of using aV8 flywheel…. on a banger… that’s not mentioned/ explained here is…A SUPPORT (bearing/bushing MUST be installed , to reinforce/support the end of bendix shaft for this to work.
    Someone here may remember the name of a member who posted here years ago. He was a very talented fabricator and banger RACER.
    He posted here with pictures, details and explanations on HOW to successfully adapt V8 flywheel with bendix support.
    I’m not good with remembering names, dates and details these days. But I can still see his face and great info he shared with us.
    His son became the race driver eventually.
    Anyone remember his name ?

2. rwrj

rwrj
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from SW Ga

Was it Just plain Bill? He has a pretty good write-up about this v8 starter business in the October 2015 Banger Meet, page 8.

3. hardtimesainit

hardtimesainit

THANKS for confirming an old memory. I still miss Bills contributions to our hobby knowledge !
    So, question. Who can copy(write) Bills knowledge given to all us ?

4. Jiminy

Jiminy

Outback, Six Ball, loudbang and 2 others like this.
  5. rwrj

rwrj
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from SW Ga

Thank you, @Jiminy. I made that last post from my phone, and I just wasn't savvy enough to link to his post on that platform.

Jiminy likes this.
  6. Phil Damon

Phil Damon
    from San Diego

BeaverMatt likes this.
  7. Dustyp489

Dustyp489

8. 97