Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Little 302 help for a new to Ford's guy...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by nikwho, Apr 14, 2021.

1. nikwho

nikwho

Hello fella's... I've got an old '30s Ford traditional hot rod/frankenrod project going. I'm in need of some help!

I'm installing the engine today, transmission in car already. I'm guiding the engine in and tilt it to align flexolate with transmission and get engine mounts over engine stand, when oil start puking out all over my driveway!!!

First, I don't know why I filled the engine with oil prior to having it in car. Stupid, perhaps, maybe divine intervention? I'm new to all block Ford engines. There's a bearing on the back of the crank. Some kind of pilot bearing. Is this where the oil likely came from? The C4 that its being mated to doesn't have anything that goes into that hole!

This has raised a lot of questions. Why is it puking oil? It dumped about a gallon out, I'd guess...

Additionally, is there a way to tell if the rotating assembly requires 28 oz. or 50 oz. flexplate and harmonic balancer? I've got an older 28 oz balancer and flexplate, as well as a 50 oz. balancer that came with the engine. Its a newer block (roller era block), but with HFT camshaft. I bought it from a mechanic friend, who took it in trade. It's all fresh machine work, lots of good parts. Picked it up for super cheap, so a little investigative work is worth while.

hotrodjack33 likes this.
  2. junkyardjeff

junkyardjeff

If all the flywheel bolts are in the only thing I can think of is the rear main seal was not installed or a issue with the oil pan seal and gasket.

3. Gearhead Graphics

Gearhead Graphics
    from Denver Co

Yeah, shouldnt be any places for oil to dump out of the motor.
    Was it trans fluid from the torque converter?
    Be sure the converter is ALL the way on before bolting the motor or youll break the pump and lose most of your gears

hotrodjack33 and Deuces like this.