Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 55 customline rear end swap

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by daniel gallocker, Apr 6, 2021.

1. daniel gallocker

daniel gallocker

Hey guys

So I want to put a 9 inch Ford rear end into my customline when I do some back suspension work, kind of a kill two birds with one stone. I have a couple questions as I’m new to this.

I believe the measurement for mine is 57 inches. Do I NEED that same exact size or can I be flexible an inch or two. I like the way the wheels sit so I’d try and keep 57.

What ratios would you guys recommend? I have no idea about how they translate. But here’s the end goal. I’d like the set up to be more for street as I will be doing much more of that, and would like to be able to do highway speeds and not be at 4500 rpm. The y block will be rebuilt and hopefully push around 300 go, can’t imagine more then 350. I have a 3 speed manual right now but I am planning on swapping to an AOD auto. I know I’ll need a new drive shaft for the both to work but If I need one for a newer rear end will it still link to the 3 speed trans? Or will I have to do this all in one go to make it work.

And lastly, I have done some research and seen the beautiful ready to go 2-3k rear ends. Im hoping I won’t have to spend that cos it would really delay the rest of the car and I’m not pushing 600 plus at the drag strip. I have seen some nice housing axle and bearing combos for around 800, and I don’t have many junkyards near me but I’m searching on Craigslist and other websites. Does anyone know anyone who’s got one for sale? And is there anything I should avoid? Is there a good way to test it with out it being installed ?

Thanks
    Dan

Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.

2. 51504bat

51504bat
    ALLIANCE MEMBER