Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Safety Wireing Wheels

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by krylon32, Apr 7, 2021.

1. krylon32

krylon32
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Nebraska
    1. Central Nebraska H.A.M.B.

Since I can't sell the pin drive knockoff wheels I have on my roadster I guess I'll have to run them. I notice that most cars I see with them on have the wheel and wing nut drilled and safety wired. Is this really necessary ? Is it a race car thing? Is it something I should be concerned about? When I drive the car at every gas stop I get out and give the wing nuts a hit and to date they have never been loose. I have never did any safety wiring before and apparently need to learn if I'm going to run these wheels. And suggestions?

loudbang likes this.
  2. KJSR

KJSR
    from Utah
    1. Utah HAMBers

I have no experience with the wheel but do know safety wiring. The HF safety wire pliers are good for occasional jobs. See attached basic instructions. Not sure if they are helpful.....

Attached Files:

Stogy and loudbang like this.
  3. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

Short story...

Years back, I owned a 61 Impala. I put a hot rod 409, turbo-400 in it. I lowered it a bit, big anti-sway bars and installed a set of Basset, NASCAR wheels.
    These wheels as you may or not know, are set up for 5/8" dia. studs. So with the axles and front brakes setup to use the big studs, on the wheels went.

While at a Pomona (SoCal) swap meet with the car, I walked up (was away to see...stuff), I see a guy pulling, twisting, and tugging on the 1-1/6" hex lug nuts on a front wheel..! I watched him for a minute or two.
    I asked the guy if he "wanted" something. He answered with, "I wanted to see if they were real". I said "why not just ASK, rather than trying to dismantle a persons car". "Beside, they are torqued with 120lb. ft. of torque, I doubt that you'll be able to get them off".
    "Any more questions?" He left, no more questions.