Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects how many leaf springs can be used

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Sean66, Apr 6, 2021.

1. Sean66

Sean66

I removed some of the top leaf springs to get it lower. On a bounce the center four bolt area bottoms out on to the axle. Not good! I know.

2. trollst

trollst

Well, your post count is rising nicely, perhaps you could be more specific about the way you use us?

3. Sean66

Sean66

Okay Sir, I do appreciate using H.A.M.B. I'm just new to traditional hot rods and learning.

reagen likes this.
  4. Kiwi 4d

Kiwi 4d
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Front or rear , what car, what spring. You can replace removed leaves with a solid spacer block.

5. junkman8888

junkman8888

I'll be the first to say it: Pictures, we need pictures in order to assist you.

6. continentaljohn

continentaljohn

I don’t like to remove the top spring as it’s not much of a load on it but I do remove a middle one . I see how the angle of the spring hangers are and see I can bottom it out. I usually take a few out of the middle rotating ever other one.

Frankie47 and Sean66 like this.
  7. Boneyard51

Boneyard51

There’s a little trick you can do with leaf springs, you can make them progressive! Put a little space between the main leafs and the support springs, then they won’t effect the ride on small bumps, but will come into play if loaded heavily or in a large bump. Ford had a really outstanding set of leaf springs on the 1970s 1/2 ton pick ups. Five steps in the progression! A work of art! Leaf springs are easy to tailor to your needs!

Bones

simplestone and Sean66 like this.
  8. Sean66

Sean66

Front leaf springs on model A front end. It was okay in the beginning but now that the full motor is in running. I noticed how close it has dropped. If I stand on frame and give alittle push down the middle bottoms out and hits axle.

9. Sean66

Sean66

Okay thanks

10. Sean66

Sean66

11. jimmy six

jimmy six
    ALLIANCE MEMBER