Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Is KOA still in existence?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Roothawg, Mar 28, 2021.

1. Roothawg

Roothawg

@John B I remember you were involved back in the early 2000's. Is KOA still alive? I see the website is gone now. I was hoping there was a traditional custom organization still out there. I'm new to the custom scene, so bare with me.

Oh and save it. It's not the campground I'm talking about.

Thanks

Root

2. gnichols

gnichols
    from Tampa, FL

3. Roothawg

Roothawg

Nope. KKOA is different. They have gone the way of NSRA. They really aren't about customs anymore. If you want some perspective get on youtube and watch the 2019 KKOA Spectacular parade, where the cars entered in the show cruise a block they have roped off. I watched 40 minutes of it and only saw like 4 customs.

4. goldmountain

goldmountain

Kampgrounds of America?

5. arkiehotrods

arkiehotrods

6. Roothawg

Roothawg

See post #1.

5window likes this.
  7. stanlow69

stanlow69
    Member Emeritus

That parade is on Thursday night. More than likely most of the cars are locals. Me, like most working people arrive on Friday. Then more roll in on Saturday. Stick around for the awards on Sunday. The majority of the winners are customs. Are you the one who is gonna stand at the gate and tell people with 32 Fords and 57 Chevys(non-customs) you can`t be in the show ?

54delray, chryslerfan55 and loudbang like this.
  8. 31 Coupe

31 Coupe

We always stay there on our US trips in the RV.

stillrunners, RICH B and Truck64 like this.
  9. Roothawg

Roothawg

Still, if your name is Kustom Kemps of America, what should the focus be on? We go to Salina most years to look at the custom stuff, but I walk past about 80% of the cars. I’m not a dyed in the wool custom guy, but when you go to look at customs, it would be nice to see a few.

I was a KKOA member for years before I even had a custom car to work on.