Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Tired of over rated Hemis

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by birdman1, Feb 19, 2021.

1. I want an early Hemi so bad...don’t even care which one!

Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.

2. Truckedup

Truckedup

I believe the Kettering design 49 Olds and Caddy were the first common production wedge heads. Compared to a Hemi, a wedge needs less octane for the same cylinder pressure.This didn't seem to be an issue in 1950's
    But it's difficult to compare the latest fast burn wedge head designs that equal any N/A hemi and are not traditional for this forum.
    I have extensive experience land speed racing vintage Triumph bikes. They are 1930's technology with a full hemi head, no squish band and a more side mounted plug than a Mopar Hemi. These old bike engines are detonation prone even stock on modern pump gas. I have done some custom machine work to have a perimeter squish band and it makes a big difference...
    Someone here with Mopar hemi experience will have a better opinion...

Just Gary likes this.
  3. blowby

blowby
    from Nicasio Ca

Thanks. Yeah I too have played with early motorcycle heads, added squish bands, dual plugs. Only street bikes though. In my experience I was able to run significantly less timing and higher compression. That's why I wondered if the early Hemis were compromised without it, if in fact it was not incorporated (and my guess is not). If the wedge heads of that era weren't yet taking advantage (I have no idea, for example, what the squish clearance was on a 265-283 SBC), probably didn't matter if octane and fuel prices were not of concern. I only mentioned modern Hemi heads as evidence they feel it's important in todays world.

But we are straying from the topic at hand: Ford Flathead vs. Chrysler Hemi. My fault. :)

4. Ebbsspeed

Ebbsspeed
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

No squish area in the early hemis.

blowby likes this.
  5. 4tford

4tford