Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1931 Model AV8 Coupe

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Willows, Jan 28, 2019.

1. doubleduece

doubleduece

How much abuse can the model A rearend take?
    I see a lot of guys use it, so I figured I would ask.
    I'm still learning to hopefully do a project of my own someday.

2. Willows

Willows

Can take plenty for sure, at least everything that a flathead will throw at it. People often use other motors with more oomph with same rear end without problems. This is actually a v8 rear end that im using, but people do use A with flatheads still, maybe not as often tho.
    Yeah im still learning also, think that is the way it is with this. Would definitely recommend doing your own, its really fun and rewarding. It helps alot too if you have mates who are into it - thats how it is for me at least. PLus theres tonnes of great advice and builders on here. A

Last edited: Jan 8, 2021
    brEad, RustyBullet and PINEAPPLE like this.
  3. Willows

Willows

This weeks work was on the radiator and headlights. I had bought a aluminium rad the closest height i could find that may work was a 25.5" one. Once i got i realised that it was still slightly too tall - with the grill shell on and it placed where i wanted it, it was about 2" too high. I am after a 1" drop on hood with 2" extension of hood, with a slight lean forward of grill. So i had to cut the bottom of the rad up and modify it.

IMG_2936.jpeg IMG_2937.jpeg IMG_2963.jpeg

I added mounting tabs on the bottom, then welded studs to the front cross member. To hold the stud straight in place whilst it was welded i drilled a small point to locate it and made a holder with access to weld.

IMG_3131.jpeg IMG_3132.jpeg IMG_3104.jpeg

brEad and PINEAPPLE like this.
  4. Willows

Willows

Headlights brackets are bent F1 shock mounts with model A cups off a headlight bar. It was a nightmare getting them identical as i could, took a while! Healdlights are BLC 682.