Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Freeing Up Stuck Engine

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TheSteamDoc, Feb 14, 2021.

1. TheSteamDoc

TheSteamDoc

I've been marinating a stuck Cadillac 390 for 5 months now. Cylinders filled with Acetone and ATF. Pulled distributor, rockers, push rods and timing chain. Cam and rotating assembly good and stuck. Rings must've been fine as the cocktail doesn't run past very fast. Other than patience, what else could help? Thinking about building a device to hold a porta power and gently press the pistons down with the crank out. No rust on the bottom end from what I seen with the pan off.

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. squirrel

squirrel

five months...damn...I have no where near that much patience. I would have taken it all apart 5 months ago.

3. rockable

rockable
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

You're not going to use those pistons again, anyway. Take a block of wood and a BFH and smack hell out out of them and drive them out. Direction is your choice but probably easier to remove from the bottom.

stillrunners likes this.
  4. F-ONE

F-ONE
    from Alabama

I'm sure that would work.
    Personally ,I would loosen all the mains and rods.
    I would get it on the floor or a heavy bench, prop it securely where it has clearance to turn.
    I would get a decent size ball been and a piece of wood (hardwood preferred).
    I would tap one side then the other.
    Then I would tap side to side, adjacent pistons.
    I really think the shock from the hammer blows will help loosen it rather than a steady push.
    Pushing one piston with the port-a power will stress that piston and rod where it will have to push against all seven during a high pressure push.
    The hammer blows rely mostly on shock and you can go back and fourth...quick.

VF-1, 6-bangertim and chryslerfan55 like this.

5. TheSteamDoc

TheSteamDoc

I'll try those tricks as well. Hoping I can pull the crank easily.

chryslerfan55 likes this.