Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Torque tubes and rear ends

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by BigBuford, Jan 18, 2021.

1. BigBuford

BigBuford

I have a ‘50 Styleline Deluxe 2 door. I would like to update it somewhat. I am concentrating the rear end. I keep seeing talk about torque tubes and what not. What is a torque tube? What is the difference between these 1950 driveshafts and more modern driveshafts? I’ve seen talk of using camaro rear ends and I’ve seen talk of using S10 rear ends. Now, I am a man of pretty basic self taught mechanic means. I have the tools, and the means (I hope) Which set up is the easiest way to go for a guy that is not an ace mechanic? Thanks!!!

2. Dan Timberlake

Dan Timberlake

3. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

Torque tube rear axle has a long solid tube that goes from the back of the transmission to the rear axle. The drive shaft goes inside it. The drive shaft has only one universal joint, at the front. The torque tube pivots on a ball joint at the front, attached to a frame crossmember. This anchors the rear axle assembly and stops it moving forward or backward. The springs are arranged so the axle can float, they do not locate the axle like a regular open drive rear axle.
    Torque tube drive was used by Ford Mercury and Lincoln up to 1948, Buick to 1959 and Chevrolet to 1954. If you install an open drive rear axle in one of those you have to rearrange the rear suspension to locate the axle.
    Torque tube drive also used on Nash and AMC cars to the mid sixties and many older cars not worth going into here.

4. Ebbsspeed

Ebbsspeed
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Also note that the transmission you have will not work with an "open" driveshaft. You will need a transmission that uses what is called a slip yoke. The slip yoke provides for the changing distance between the rear axle and the transmission as the rear suspension compresses and rebounds.

5. BigBuford

BigBuford