Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects The Little Green Roadster that got me here

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by BDUB77, Dec 30, 2020.

1. BDUB77

BDUB77

After a little nudge from @Stogy and @AmishMike, I have decided to create a post on my 27 Chrysler Roadster. I have been a little hesitant to show my work because I am an amateur and have been very humbled by the quality that I see on The HAMB. It is a 27 Chrysler on a 27 frame with a 48 ford front axle, parallel leaves, ford juice brakes, 48 Ford rear end with a model T spring, 354 Hemi, and push-button cast iron torqueflite. The history of the car is that it was supposedly a dry lakes car in the 50’s that ran a flathead, (I would love to validate that). At some point it became a rat rod, then the next owner attempted to rebuild it into a hot rod.

I had never heard of the HAMB when I bought this car. I thought I was buying a complete hot rod and had no idea of the amount of work and learning that would be involved. After I got it home, I attempted to pull it out of the trailer and it wouldn’t go into reverse. So I pushed it in the garage and it puked Transmission fluid all over. That certainly set the tone on what would end up being a couple of years of hands-on education for me.

Since that day I have done the following:

• Rebuilt the Transmission including replacing the case because it had been cracked and welded.
    • Replaced the rear spring removing 4 inches of spacers (The suspension was still sitting on the bottomed out shocks)
    • Fabricated ladder bars out of ford radius rods along with a crossmember to mount them. (It only had 2 bottom links with heim joints bolted to a single tab with one bolt) The rear end would flop around uncontrollably.