Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Pinstripers preference

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Lloyd's paint & glass, Sep 18, 2020.

1. I've been striping for about 20 years, nowhere near the best, but not that bad either, if you know what I mean lol. I don't stripe near as much as I used to, seems that it gets hot for a while, and then fades off for a couple of years. When i started it was all about Mack brushes, then at some point i decided to order me a set of Kafka brushes. Took some getting used to as the Kafka uses the tip more than the Mack sword stripers. What are you guys that pull lines using?

2. Sorry Lloyd, I guess not many are "pulling lines" anymore. An art form that will never go out of style for traditional rods and customs...

3. Yeah seems that way huh? Guess i can raise my prices then ;)

bchctybob and dana barlow like this.
  4. If you take a road trip up here I’ll pay you very little to do some striping. I will feed you well! Think about it....

Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.

alanp561 and scotty t like this.

5. blowby

blowby
    from Nicasio Ca

Here's a great Von Dutch video while we're waiting

6. Funny part is I've never charged a dime for striping a car. But you'd have to chip in on gas money brother lol

7. Almostdone

Almostdone
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I’ve just started striping and lettering and have the Kafka brushes. I was thinking about getting a Mack or two to try, because I can’t seem to pull a very long line with the Kafkas and thought I may be able to load more paint in a Mack. I’m a beginner, so that’s probably more of a reflection on me than on the brushes.

Having a lot of fun though.

SlamIam, chryslerfan55 and alanp561 like this.
  8. I think i have more control with a mack. But they seem inconsistent to me. I have my favorite brushes, and some i just can't work with. Best advice i ever got was to stripe every day. Practice practice practice....