Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration <<<< Friday Art Show 9/11/20 >>>

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 57 Corvette ~ Bob, Sep 10, 2020.

1. Sky Six

Sky Six
    from Arizona

I am not an artist, I don't have the patience or the skill set. I heat and beat metal and tinker. I do appreciate skill or talent or whatever you may want to call it. I really enjoy the drawings and art, that are posted weekly on this thread. When I see something that I like or enjoy, I try to commend the originator so he/she knows that their time and effort is noted. I had no idea that saying "wow, you have talent" was upsetting. Its just a compliment, Now I know to just keep quiet.

Jigger, fauj, catdad49 and 3 others like this.
  2. PhilA

PhilA
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    1. Hydro Tech

I just reply "Naw, I can't draw. It's your imagination. But thanks!", if someone makes a comment about anything I draw or paint.

It's all objective, and if someone appreciates it then all's the better for it. Always say thanks though, because usually the comment is genuine; many people can't put pen to paper and make more than stick figures, let alone life drawing.

If it's not for the recognition, then why do you do it? If it's for personal enjoyment and any compliment will get your back up... Don't show other people. However, you can draw, you have a skill at capturing an image to paper and people genuinely appreciate that, particularly if they can't. Take a little pride in their envy and say thank you even if you aren't sure you should.

Eggs sucked? Alrighty then.

I only got in my soapbox because I haven't drawn anything in months...

Phil

3. xhotrodder

xhotrodder