Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Jumping in the deep end

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by trevorsworth, Aug 4, 2020.

1. trevorsworth

trevorsworth
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Hi guys.

Little preface: I have no idea what I'm doing. Other than the really rough classics we had in my high school auto shop, I have no background with this stuff, no mentor, no cool hot rod uncle to give me pointers, and no deep pockets to absorb the impact of my mistakes. I'm a broke ass college kid and I decided I want a real, no bullshit hot rod soooo...

[​IMG]

I bought this flathead V8 for $250.

I'm told was pulled from a 1949 F-6 a couple weeks ago and was last running in 2010. The carburetor was damaged by a stray bullet. I don't have any more details on that.

The motor turns over easily by hand and you can hear it gasp, the clutch works and the transmission shifts. It has freshish oil and coolant and there's some new rubber on it so I guess I'll take the previous owner at his word that it was running.

I have a lot of learning to do, but I learn best by diving in and leaving myself with no choice but to learn how to swim... so now that I have this engine sitting on a tire in my garage that's what I'm going to do.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Feat. engine hoist I panic bought & overhauled yesterday after agreeing to pick up the engine today and realizing I would have no way to unload it.

I'll worry about a frame and body later... those are always available; good deals on complete engines don't seem to come up as often. For now I want to get this motor built and running. Tomorrow I plan to clean it and then pull the heads off and see what the cylinders and valves look like. If I have time that evening I'm also going to drain the oil and drop the pan. Any advice before I get into it? Is there a checklist for dummies I should go down?